Awards Committee

Chair: Dr. Alena Talbot Ellis, Ph.D, R. Psych.

Meetings: As needed, summer into fall.

Description: The BCPA Awards Committee is responsible for creating awards, soliciting recipient nominations and selecting award recipients on an annual basis.

Summary of activities from fiscal 2021-2022:

The BCPA Awards Committee is responsible for creating awards, soliciting recipient nominations, and selecting award recipients on an annual basis. We are pleased to be entering into our second year as the newly revamped Awards Committee. Thank you to all for your exceptional nominations last year. We were so thrilled to be able to recognize the amazing achievements of our colleagues in the following areas:

• Lifetime Achievement Award: (may not be given out each year). This award recognizes those psychologists who have spent a significant part of their professional lifetime supporting the profession of psychology at the provincial, national and international level.

Community Service Award: This award shall be presented to recognize BCPA Members or Affiliates who have given exceptional service or made a distinguished contribution to the association and their community during the year.

• Advocacy Award: This award recognizes psychologists or doctoral students who have made significant contributions in advocating for the science and the profession of psychology in B.C. over the past year.

Dedicated Student Award: This award recognizes doctoral student members for their contributions and dedication to the science and profession of psychology through re search, community service, or advocacy.

The recipients of these awards were an inspiration to us all. We are once again soliciting nominations for awards recipients who have shown exemplary dedication to their work in the aforementioned categories. We look forward to receiving your nominations and announcing the recipients! (And let us not forget our students who were underrepresented in last year’s nominations).

We are still seeking additional committee members for the Awards Committee. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you
are interested in joining us.